WCRC General Secretary Search Committee: Interim Report

The Search Committee Members

Rev. Dr. Yvette Noble- Bloomfield, moderator

Rev. Najla Kassab – WCRC President

Dr. Johann Weusmann - WCRC General Treasurer

Rev. Catherine McMillan Haueis-Rapporteur

Rev. Dr Dario Barolin

Elder Sara Lisherness

Rev. Dr. Setri Nyomi

Rev. Dr. Daniel Rathnakara Sadananda

In September 2021, the WCRC General Secretary Search Committee resumed its mandate to identify and recommend the next General Secretary of the Communion and has had five (5) meetings via Zoom.

Six persons submitted application packages by the deadline of January 15, 2022.

The applicants were from members churches in Africa, Europe, and Central, North and South America. Three persons, two males and one female, were shortlisted. All applicants received letters indicating their status in the process following the shortlisting process.

The Search Committee agreed on a two-step interview process for the shortlisted applicants, one with the professional xcg Executive Consulting Group AG, and a second face-to-face interview with the Search Committee.

The xcg Executive Consulting Group AG and the moderator of the Search Committee interviewed the three shortlisted applicants on March 10, 2022. Each interview lasted two hours. The interview process included but was not limited to professional development, suitability for the position, self-appraisal, personality, and aptitude tests.

The Search Committee received a detailed written report on each candidate from the consulting group on March 17, 2022. On April 21, 2022, the Search Committee met with the consulting group and discussed each report.

One candidate has voluntarily withdrawn from the process due to the uncertainty of the commencement date of the position. The other two candidates are still in the process, the next phase hopefully being the face-to-face interview with the Search Committee in Hannover.

The Search Committee awaits further information and instructions from the Officers and the Executive Committee regarding the timeline.

Respectfully Submitted,
Yvette Noble-Bloomfield (Rev. Dr.)